JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   XJ Cherokee Technical Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f11/)
-   -   lift help! READ THIS (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f11/lift-help-read-154328/)

ATX XJ 04-15-2005 11:12 PM

lift help! READ THIS

hey guys i need some help...i really want a 4.5 inch lift and 33's but my step dad is a hardass and an engineer who knows all about COG and says its just not safe enuff to do it. i know its less safe but im a fairly responsible driver and i could handle it. any ideas for helpin me convince him to let me lift her?

balloo93 04-15-2005 11:36 PM

With the offset rims you're running, you could probably go about 3" and maintain close to factory COG. The alternative is to take a saw-zaw to the fender flares and fit 33's that way.

jcr23 04-16-2005 12:20 AM

bah, not safe... thats rediculous :p

TheWombaT 04-16-2005 01:09 AM

How badly is the handling of a Jeep effected by a 3" raise? Im considering one for my Jeep but I'm also aware of COG and other issues of that matter.

Not to derail thread but its semi-on topic

balloo93 04-16-2005 03:33 AM

I look at it like this:

3" lift means (as a loose standard) 31" tires. Those are wider than the stock tires, thus adding a bit of stability.

Add to that, even as little as 4.5" of BS (stock BS is 5.25") on a 15x8" rim will give you a even wider stance. Approx 2" wider at each tire, so 4" wider in total. Use a 4" (or 3.75") and gain about 5-5.5" of stance, not including the wide of the wide pattern over the 8" of rim.

Keep the sway bars on the front and back, and there will be little to no change in the handling. If you are worried about the rear getting a little sloppy, summitracing.com sells some bolt on load leveler helper springs that will actually tighten up the rear as well. These units are easily bolted on and off.

badron 04-16-2005 03:59 AM