Jeep XJ weird startup issue - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Jeep XJ weird startup issue

ECGS Black Friday Sale!!6th Annual, Beat Your Wife to the Credit Card Sale!50 in light bar /A pillar mount less than 500 at JeepHut.c

Unread 07-31-2013, 02:25 PM   #1
jmp4x4
1993 XJ Cherokee 

Jeep XJ weird startup issue

Hi to all, im new at this and donīt know much about mechanics, so I think some of you guys can help me with this strange startup issue.
My XJ 93 cranks and it tries to start, but goes off, after the second try it stays on for a few seconds at no more de 500RPM and then goes off, at the third try it goes on for about 20 seconds at less than 500rpm and goes off again, but at the fourth try it goes for about 30 segonds at about 500rpm and then it revs up to about 2000rpm, and then back to a stable 900-1000 rpm for the rest of the day it works fine only at the first try, but when I leave it overnight I always get this problem.
My mechanic has already change the oil pump, fuel regulator, battery, and still donīt know what the problem might be.
Any help will be greatly appreciated, having this problem since I rebuilded my engine, everything else works like a charm after 5 step painfull morning startup.

jmp4x4 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-31-2013, 06:19 PM   #2
psychoteen101
1996 XJ Cherokee 

Find out what your mechanic tested and the reason to replace all those parts. Seems like he is just randomly throwing parts into it. Is the check engine light on? Find out if he checked fuel pressure as well as spark.
Unread 07-31-2013, 10:29 PM   #3
MoparMech
1995 XJ Cherokee 

IAC Motor possibly. Does it stay running if you put your foot on the throttle?