jeep blows 30 amp fuse under hood when starting - Page 2 -
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > jeep blows 30 amp fuse under hood when starting

Get ready!! CyberMonday deals are coming!!!Today Only! FREE Rear Bumper is back! Plus other goodies.Cyber Monday Sale Kick Off

Unread 11-14-2008, 03:53 PM   #16
Registered User
1997 XJ Cherokee 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 4
Taters, what was the problem with the computer? I am having the exact problem and I think that is the culprit. Would it just be easier to buy another computer?


rfritz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-21-2010, 12:18 PM   #17
Registered User
Join Date: May 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 1
help i havv same problem

ihave the same problem,what part did u have to replace in computer?
drad is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-06-2012, 04:55 PM   #18
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 6
Old post but I am now having this problem... What is the culprit???
KJR96XJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-11-2013, 11:33 AM   #19
Registered User
1996 XJ Cherokee 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Pataskala, Oh
Posts: 1
Had the same issue. I am new to Jeeps, being an old Ford guy so I made a dumb mistake. I have just finished working on my XJ doing lots of mods and maintenance. One of the things I did was remove the interior to fix some holes on the floor and bed line it. During this procedure I removed the seat belts, no big deal right? Put everything back together, drove it a week or so, then one day, boom; she shuts down. No spark, no start. I troubleshoot everything, got the familiar CPS, coil, etc. found that the ASD relay 30A fuse is blown. The culprit? There is a plastic bracket behind the transfer case that holds the O2 sensor. It is held to the SEAT BELT bolt with a speed nut! When I removed the seat belts, I inadvertently disconnected this bracket. The O2 sensor wires were draped over the slip yoke and the insulation had worn through causing a short and blowing the fuse. Fixed the wires, put the bracket back in place, replaced the fuse and hit the road.
Narwhale671 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools

Suggested Threads

Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.