idle problems// backfire// no power on accelaration - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > idle problems// backfire// no power on accelaration

Rampage Bowless Soft Top Oconee offroadAlloy USA Still AvailableAdvance Adapters SYE Kits

Unread 12-06-2010, 04:02 PM   #1
thundering89
1992 XJ Cherokee 

idle problems// backfire// no power on accelaration

hi, i am new to this jeep forum.
I have been having a big problem with my 92 jeep cherokee. sometimes it will idle fine but sometimes it will start sputtering. it has started developing a popping in the intake, such as backfire.

when i put it in gear it begins to pop in the intake manifold really bad and the jeep doesnt go anywhere. i try slamming the gas pedal to the flood but it stays around idle RPMs and continues to sputter.

i have been chasing this problem for a while now. ive read many different threads and ive replaced the basics. plugs, wires, cap, rotor, fuel pump, filter, CPS,
i have a new ECU and new injectors in the mail. they should be here today

can someone give me an idea to what else it could be?

thundering89 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-06-2010, 04:38 PM   #2
hookuspookus
1997 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by thundering89 View Post
hi, i am new to this jeep forum.
I have been having a big problem with my 92 jeep cherokee. sometimes it will idle fine but sometimes it will start sputtering. it has started developing a popping in the intake, such as backfire.

when i put it in gear it begins to pop in the intake manifold really bad and the jeep doesnt go anywhere. i try slamming the gas pedal to the flood but it stays around idle RPMs and continues to sputter.