How would i replace the batt. cables on a 88-89? - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 08-30-2006, 02:34 PM Thread Starter
colgate41
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 9
How would i replace the batt. cables on a 88-89?

My last post was about a starter and i put it in 1-2-3 jsut like you guys said. Well now my buddys jeep needs new battery cables. How do i go about removing the old ones, and putting in new ones? Thanks a lot all.

colgate41 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 08-30-2006, 02:55 PM
wolfepack215
Registered User
 
wolfepack215's Avatar
1987 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St. Augustine Florida
Posts: 1,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by colgate41
My last post was about a starter and i put it in 1-2-3 jsut like you guys said. Well now my buddys jeep needs new battery cables. How do i go about removing the old ones, and putting in new ones? Thanks a lot all.
Not to sound to basic, but loosen nuts that hold cables on, remove cable, replace with new cable...... Id doesn't get any more simple than that.... Sorry. You can go to any auto parts store and get the replacement cables, or get thicker wire and ends and make them yourself..... Best way!! Use minimum 4awg wire, and 8awg for your connection from batt. to starter relay.... While you're doing that though, you should also add a 4awg wire from your Alt. to your Starter Relay post (dont forget the 150 amp inline fuse on this wire if you do though). Its pretty straight forward, but here's a link that's really helpful.... Click HERE!!

Hope this helps, GOod LUck


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
wolfepack215 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 08-30-2006, 03:42 PM
severous01
Registered User
 
severous01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: SETX, TX
Posts: 2,147
local parts places can get the factory wires. i'd run my own though like the thread above says...factory is restricted and should at least be double the size it is for optimum performance...wouldnt go less than 4 awg.
severous01 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
[b][/b] Need Info On Replace Battery Cables And O2 Wires Jeep_Runner_83 XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 1 11-13-2008 03:22 PM
Batt or Alt??? Who Knows...... XJBender XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 3 11-02-2007 04:46 PM
whats that thing my batt. goes too ben1122 XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 5 02-14-2007 02:46 PM
How hard to replace battery cables? rosader XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 6 12-15-2006 11:51 PM
Need to replace IAC; cables on throttle body?? SoloHiker XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 3 07-23-2006 02:26 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome