How would i replace the batt. cables on a 88-89? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > How would i replace the batt. cables on a 88-89?

Black Friday Sale - Deep Discounts from ExtremeTerrain.com6th Annual, Beat Your Wife to the Credit Card Sale!FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome Effect

Reply
Unread 08-30-2006, 02:34 PM   #1
colgate41
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 9
How would i replace the batt. cables on a 88-89?

My last post was about a starter and i put it in 1-2-3 jsut like you guys said. Well now my buddys jeep needs new battery cables. How do i go about removing the old ones, and putting in new ones? Thanks a lot all.

colgate41 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-30-2006, 02:55 PM   #2
wolfepack215
Registered User
1987 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St. Augustine Florida
Posts: 1,641
Quote:
Originally Posted by colgate41
My last post was about a starter and i put it in 1-2-3 jsut like you guys said. Well now my buddys jeep needs new battery cables. How do i go about removing the old ones, and putting in new ones? Thanks a lot all.
Not to sound to basic, but loosen nuts that hold cables on, remove cable, replace with new cable...... Id doesn't get any more simple than that.... Sorry. You can go to any auto parts store and get the replacement cables, or get thicker wire and ends and make them yourself..... Best way!! Use minimum 4awg wire, and 8awg for your connection from batt. to starter relay.... While you're doing that though, you should also add a 4awg wire from your Alt. to your Starter Relay post (dont forget the 150 amp inline fuse on this wire if you do though). Its pretty straight forward, but here's a link that's really helpful.... Click HERE!!

Hope this helps, GOod LUck
wolfepack215 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-30-2006, 03:42 PM   #3
severous01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 2,142
local parts places can get the factory wires. i'd run my own though like the thread above says...factory is restricted and should at least be double the size it is for optimum performance...wouldnt go less than 4 awg.
severous01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.