help with XJ lift and other adds - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > help with XJ lift and other adds

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueRough Country Lift Kits and Parts!

Unread 02-22-2011, 06:28 PM   #1
XJforlife
1998 XJ Cherokee 

help with XJ lift and other adds

Im relatively new to the jeep scene. I own an XJ classic 4X4 automatic with the 4.0L and all the mechanical parts are stock (save the air filter). I wanna build it up and lift it to be a long distance driver that has some lift and aggression to it. Im a student at the ohio state university but I live in Alabama so I drive about 700 miles one way, so I wanna maintain road drivability while also having some bigger tires and a better trail stance and get a feel for everything i need to buy and change. Anyone got any ideas?

XJforlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-22-2011, 06:37 PM   #2
motorheadmach1
1990 XJ Cherokee 

what do you plan on using the jeep for when your not on the road? mud,rocks,dirt roads etc.... i guess really it depends on how much money you want to spend. I would say if you lift it more than about 3" you have to start replacing alot more. ive had a daily driver forever thats 3" lift and 31" all terrain tires and its great.
Unread 02-22-2011, 06:40 PM   #3
xjfever
Web Wheeler

1995 XJ Cherokee 

I would either go with a 2" budget boost and 30x9.50 tires, or a 3" lift and 31" tires in your situation. The 30's would be more fuel mileage friendly though. With 31's and stock gears you can look forward to 15 miles per gallon or less.