Getting 6-8 mpg, what could be wrong? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Getting 6-8 mpg, what could be wrong?

Rough Country Deals at JeepHut.comSave at JeepHut on Smittybilt Soft topsUp to $75 Cash Back on Your ARB Fridge Freezer Purchase

Unread 03-11-2013, 04:24 PM   #1
Ansleigh
1995 XJ Cherokee 

Getting 6-8 mpg, what could be wrong?

95 XJ, v6 engine 4.0L 120K miles

Ive had my jeep for 4 years, and it usually gets around 14 mpg around town but lately its mileage has been horrible and its doing some other weird things! I'm a college student, so this is the only mode of transportation I have right now, and I would feel a whole lot better if I could get bonnie running well again! Here's the symptoms:

-I'm getting 6-8 mpg
-The air reeks of gas everytime I get out of it after I drive it
-The engine never misfires, but it does idle pretty hard sometimes
-It's taking longer to crank than it used to
-Sometimes I hear a knocking noise after I turn the car off

Side note- I just had an oil change and all my fluids topped off, and it doesnt leak any kind of fluid

Anyone have any ideas about what could be wrong?

Thanks so much!

Ansleigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-11-2013, 05:07 PM   #2
bigbill888
1996 ZJ 

Did it start doing this immediately after the oil change?
All work well
bigbill888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-11-2013, 05:25 PM   #3
xtremzj
1998 ZJ 

Change your o2 sensors.
QuirkWorks Sponsored #44 subaru rally car
CHRYSLER CERTIFIED MASTER TECH. PM IF YOU HAVE QUESTIONS.
xtremzj is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-11-2013, 05:53 PM   #4
Ansleigh
1995 XJ Cherokee