Gear Install in a Chryco 8.25 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Gear Install in a Chryco 8.25

Flowmaster Overstock: Special Holiday Pricing!!!!RIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!

Unread 10-08-2004, 06:11 PM   #1
mbood82
1999 XJ Cherokee 

Gear Install in a Chryco 8.25

I recently installed some 4.56 gears in my 8.25. Having found it to be slightly different from the typical Dana axles, and not being able to find a real write-up on this axle easily, and at the request of a few people on the forum, I figured I'd write up a tip sheet or something. I am by no means an expert gear installer, this was my first time doing gears even. It is very likely I'll leave out a few steps. And I don't know many of the technical terms, so expect dohickey and thing-a-ma-bob to be used alot. As a result, do not hold me liable to anything said here. With that out of the way, I will try to get some stuff clarified.

Tools needed:

BFH (big f*cking hammer)
Complete socket set
Foot pound torque wrench
Inch pound torque wrench - beam style
Assorted punches
Bearing press
Gear paint
Other assorted crap I forgot I used

Step 1.)

Remove the diff cover. I suggest placing a pan under the diff that can hold 2 quarts of gear oil. Starting at the bottom, undo the bolts evenly towards the top. If the oil has not started to drain by the time you get to the top bolt, loosen it but do not remove it and take a screwdriver and gently pry it off from the bottom. Let the oil drain, then remove the top bolt.

Edited - Step 2.) Remove the retaining clips holding the adjusters in place. A picture of the bearing cap, adjuster and adjuster clip courtesy of XJ99.

Step 3.)