Frayed Alternator Cable - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 04-14-2013, 08:27 AM Thread Starter
jdumont
Registered User
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 232
Frayed Alternator Cable

Morning all,
Been meaning to get to this for a while and I think today is the day. It looks like the black/white trace cable to the back of the alternator is frayed pretty bad. Its the one that goes through the wire loom and then into a fusible link and then to the post on the power distribution block.

Are there any special requirements about this link that I need to be aware of before I replace (ie. V or A requirements)? Is this normally an Auto Zone type thing?

Thanks in advance

Attached Thumbnails
IMAG0042.jpg   IMAG0045.jpg  
jdumont is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 04-14-2013, 09:37 AM
5-90
Registered User
 
5-90's Avatar
1988 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 5,344
That's not the ground - that's the main power cable! Thus, the fusible link.

The fusible link may be replaced with a fuse - for your 1999, the alternator should be rated for 117A max output (111.15-128.7A actual max output, given the "95-110%" range usually used.)

A MEGA or ANL fuse is preferred, 10AWG fusible link wire can be found in bulk, but is difficult (and you usually get clobbered with minima.) Use a 125A or 150A fuse in either format, mount it on the fenderwell. The other lead from the fuse can be run to either the PDC input stud (as OEM) or to the battery positive post (electrically speaking, they're the same thing.)

Do not eliminate the fusible link without replacing it in some manner!

"recon" (sic - reckon)(tm) "hihgly"(tm) "seceed"(tm)
"Outback AIDS - Alcohol-Induced Dizzy Spells"
5-90 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 04-14-2013, 10:22 AM Thread Starter
jdumont
Registered User
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 232
Thanks man! Yea, I had changed that from ground to black wire after I thought about it for a minute!

Just cleaned my throttle body/IAC so once I get that back together ill run to autozone to look for the fuses. I think I saw the ones you are talking about the other day.
jdumont is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 04-14-2013, 11:06 AM
sAe23
Registered User
1995 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Los Angeles / SFV
Posts: 3,300
Autozone is probably only going to have a 175 amp fuse, and no holder for it.
Try a stereo install shop, or order it on line.
sAe23 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 04-14-2013, 02:23 PM
cory4um
Registered User
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Skook
Posts: 609
Quote:
Originally Posted by sAe23 View Post
Autozone is probably only going to have a 175 amp fuse, and no holder for it.
Try a stereo install shop, or order it on line.
Yup, i only could find the 175a at AutoZone too. It works.
The pdc itself is a nice holder for the fuse...
Not my pic, but i did something similar

cory4um is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome