Engine turns / won't start / after AC clutch repair and radiator flush - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Engine turns / won't start / after AC clutch repair and radiator flush

NEW JK WRANGLER GRAB BARS NOW at ROCKRIDGE4WDThe Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!Offset Tie Rod Kit From RuffStuff!

Unread 08-25-2013, 08:06 PM   #1
JeepJammer
1999 XJ Cherokee 

Engine turns / won't start / after AC clutch repair and radiator flush

Oh boy, I think I might have killed my Jeep. I'm not a mechanic, but am mechanically inclined. I'm enough to be dangerous, but not enough to get myself out of this pickle.

Troubles started once I started experimenting with my AC this summer. Got it working enough to burn out the AC clutch. Pulley was still turning but making various degrees of howling noises. In diagnosing and repairing this, I started suspecting overheating issues, because everything under the hood seemed so darned hot.

Once I got the AC clutch repaired, I decided to flush my radiator fluid because it seemed awfully brown. I flushed it several times, put new fluid in, tidied everything up from both repairs.

Found the battery to be dead, so charged it for about 20 minutes and was able to start it just fine. After about 10 minutes of idling I noticed the electric fan still hadn't come on, but temperature seemed stable at about 210.

I then drove it about 10 miles, and let it idle at a gas station when I went in. After coming coming out, the "check gauges" light was on and there was a noise alarm. The temp was up to about 240.

The temp quickly went back down to about 210/220 as a I drove home. Got home, opened the hood, and realized the electric fan still wasn't running,