Electrical wiring for lightbar - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Electrical wiring for lightbar

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineSavvy Billet LED Tail LightsWant to be able to SEE? DOT Approved Headlights for under

Unread 05-15-2013, 10:23 PM   #1
VTEK1
1999 XJ Cherokee 

Electrical wiring for lightbar

Okay, so I have a new lightbar on the way, and I have some good experience with wiring. My idea involves these 27W LED fogs i got for the light bar. I would like to wire 2 lights to one relay or 1 relay per. Hella has this nice little box which I'm going to mount under my driver's seat that houses 4 relays. I plan on using the typical 5 pin dual 87 relay with 30 amp fuses on every light.

http://www.amazon.com/HELLA-H8496009...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

http://www.amazon.com/HELLA-H8498800...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

All the wiring will be 12-10 gauge, except the trigger wires for the relay. Just looking for a nice, SAFE, install and keep it clean. Run the switches to either my center console, or under the dash where I have a 3 switch setup.

I hope this isn't too confusing to understand. Def open for suggestions but pretty set in my ways about using relays. I just don't know if I can use two lights on one relay to save space or should use 1 relay per light.

Thank you for your time.

Black Beast Build

MΘΣΝΔ ΚΘΒΦΘΡ
VTEK1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-15-2013, 10:57 PM   #2
chriskeenan
1999 XJ Cherokee 

you could wire them all on one relay. each light is only using 2.4 amps at most. unless you want individual control of each light or each set, save the relay space for other accessories if you can, there's no sense in wasting capacity.