Difference between 89 and 91 4.0L? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Difference between 89 and 91 4.0L?

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineSpartan Locker Promo Running now @ ROCKRIDGE 4WD plus FREESpartan Locker Special Forum Prices Dana 30 44 60 Ford 8.8

Unread 05-10-2012, 10:43 PM   #1
dustinslaton

Difference between 89 and 91 4.0L?

I'm finally about to start restoring my 89 Jeep Cherokee Laredo. It's going to be a daily driver, and stay pretty much stock except for a few toys (2" lift, tire rack, etc.)

My question is about the changes that happened to the 4.0 in 1991 resulting in about 14 more HP. I read that the main change was added multipoint fuel injection. I'm not a big mechanic, so I don't know exactly what that means. Can you help with that?

Was there any other significant change to the 4.0 that year, or any year after that which would make it worth upgrading the motor/components as I'm doing the rebuild? The engine is solid, and ran fine when I parked it 6 years ago aside from oil seal leaks.

Thanks for your help.

dustinslaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-10-2012, 11:21 PM   #2
USAXJ
1996 XJ Cherokee 

Multipoint fuel injection just means each cylinder has its own injector. The main differences were intake and compression I think. Jeep changed the intakes several times throughout the years. Wikipedia is a good source info about the changes.
USAXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-10-2012, 11:28 PM   #3
5-90
1988 XJ Cherokee 

Quote:
Originally Posted by dustinslaton View Post