Daily Driver XJ, and a front locker(lock-right) - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Daily Driver XJ, and a front locker(lock-right)

Safety Thimble FairleadsEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippBLACK FRIDAY SPECIALS!! You asked, we deliver!

Unread 03-06-2010, 04:46 PM   #1
XJ Jay
1999 XJ Cherokee 

Daily Driver XJ, and a front locker(lock-right)

first off i KNOW you can not run a full locker or spool in a non disco front diff, and i understand why (im a journeymen auto tech). and i know your not saposta run a ratchet style locker in the front in a daily driver as well. but i ask who has actually run a ratchet style locker in the front. what was the long term out come (worn splines on the axle/locker). the detriot true-trac isnt quite what im looking for(cost and performance wise) ive read a few guys on NAXJA have run a lock-right in the front in there daily, but didnt mention of any lock term side affects. i never use my 4x4 on dry pavement, only icy,snowy,slushy roads or when i wheel. i have stock gears(3.54) and dont plan on going bigger then my 31s or re gearing

XJ Jay is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-06-2010, 04:52 PM   #2
xjfever
Web Wheeler

1995 XJ Cherokee 

There is absolutely nothing wrong with running a lunchbox/auto locker in the front with a non disco unit. The locker only works when power is applied to the front axle as in when the jeep is in 4wd. There are no ill affects in running one up front.
  1. '95 XJ country edition, 4" coils/3/4" spacers, HD leafs with extra main added in, Ironman adjustable control arms, rough country shackles, aussie locker, JK rubicon shocks, 35" mudder's, soft 8's, cobra cb