Cherokee Serpentine Belt Replacement - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Cherokee Serpentine Belt Replacement

Brand New! Quadratec LED Headlights!FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 08-14-2006, 10:38 AM   #1
coclimber

Cherokee Serpentine Belt Replacement

I have been trying to find information regarding the recommended interval for replacement of a 1999 Jeep Cherokee Sport 6cyl 4wd serpentine belt. It has been 4 years since last replacement. The belt shows signs of cracking on the tooth side, but I'm not experienced enough to know if this is an indicator of need for replacement or if this is usual. Please help.

coclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-14-2006, 11:05 AM   #2
captain_ruggy
1994 XJ Cherokee 

If it's cracked, replace it. If it would break on you while driving, it wouldn't be a nice sound. It's not that hard to do either. You should replace it with a goodyear gatorback belt. I think they are the best belt out there for the money.
Aux. fan switch, homemade BPE's
moved intake, OEM towhooks
Rear disc brakes, JKS disco's
captain_ruggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-14-2006, 11:12 AM   #3
MaroonedXJ

[QUOTE=captain_ruggy]It's not that hard to do either. QUOTE]

speak for yourself! mine is a pita!

1992 [COLOR="Red"]Jeep[/COLOR] [COLOR="White"]Cherokee[/COLOR] [COLOR="Blue"]Laredo[/COLOR] 4.0
[] IIIIIII [][/CENTER]

[COLOR="DarkRed"][FONT="Arial Black"][SIZE="3"]Maroon Jeep Club Member #[/FONT] [/SIZE][FONT="Arial"] [SIZE="1"]who knows[/SIZE][/FONT][/COLOR]
MaroonedXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-14-2006, 11:17 AM   #4
chowner
2014 WK