Can you swap jeep cherokee computer with grand cherokee - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 07-02-2011, 08:07 PM Thread Starter
jonnyboy99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: auburn
Posts: 4
Can you swap jeep cherokee computer with grand cherokee

Yeah man i'm a new member. WooHoo!

Got a Question. I have a 1998 Jeep Cherokee Limited inline 6 4.0L. I think my computer is bad but not sure. I'm getting no spark at the plugs. I've read on here about people having the "no spark" issue and have replaced the crankshaft position sensor, camshaft position sensor, and ignition coil. Still no spark. My next guess is to replace the cars computer. (also none of my gauges work.)

I want to know if i can swap out a computer from a 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee V8 and put it in my jeep cherokee. Are they compatible?? Many thanks!

jonnyboy99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 07-02-2011, 08:34 PM
newfieZJ
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6,557
newfieZJ is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 07-02-2011, 09:57 PM
keepishop
Registered User
1989 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,372
ASD relay comes to mind, but that might be for fuel not spark.


Current: Black 89 limited, dakota bastard pack, zj coils, 1.5" lift, open cooling swap, bronco 2 carrier, rad fan switch
Rest in Pieces: Red 1990 cherokee dana30/8.25 - v8 zj coils & s10 bastard pack 2.5" lift - 31x10.5r15 tires - v8 zj tierod

Quote:
Originally Posted by talentjeep View Post
Bleed or Quit.
jf irc @ irc.freenode.net #jeepforum
keepishop is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 07-02-2011, 11:07 PM
cruiser54
Web Wheeler
 
cruiser54's Avatar
1990 MJ Comanche 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Prescott
Posts: 11,157
If you're hell-bent on changing the computer, go get one from the junkyard. But, why not do some testing first?
cruiser54 is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 07-03-2011, 03:57 AM
Kevin108
Registered User
2000 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 3,951
If the computer from a 99 will work in your 98, I can make you a deal, but I doubt it's the computer.

No gauges and no spark is typically the crank position sensor. Is yours the one hole or two hole sensor? Are you getting NO BUS on odometer?

My build thread has pics again. http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f177/kevin108s-2000-xj-build-867428/
Kevin108 is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 07-03-2011, 10:06 AM Thread Starter
jonnyboy99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: auburn
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin108 View Post
If the computer from a 99 will work in your 98, I can make you a deal, but I doubt it's the computer.

No gauges and no spark is typically the crank position sensor. Is yours the one hole or two hole sensor? Are you getting NO BUS on odometer?

I've already replaced the crank position sensor. It is the 2 hole type. Odometer reads fine, 168,xxx. The ASD relay is fine. I'm getting fuel to the fuel rail. Have checked all fuses. I'm not getting power to the ignition coil. (tested with voltmeter)

How do you know if the computer is bad and/or how do you test it?? thanks guys!
jonnyboy99 is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 07-03-2011, 11:40 AM
Luke94XJ
Registered User
1994 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Columbia, Mo.
Posts: 1,739
If you can find a 96-99 computer for an I-6 engine you can swap it in there. Chances are it's not the computer.
Luke94XJ is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 07-03-2011, 01:03 PM
hobo2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: roseville
Posts: 2
i check the fuse in side the jeep it a 20 or 25 amp fuse check owner manual said starter
hobo2 is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 07-03-2011, 01:07 PM Thread Starter
jonnyboy99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: auburn
Posts: 4
Ok we ended up putting the computer from the Grand Cherokee in there and now we are getting spark. So know i need a computer for my 1998 Jeep Cherokee Limited I6.
jonnyboy99 is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 07-03-2011, 01:15 PM
newfieZJ
Registered User
1995 ZJ 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 6,557
You could get one at your local scrap yard , try posting in the wanted section , try ebay , or try contacting Kolak@AOL.com .
newfieZJ is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 07-03-2011, 02:32 PM
Luke94XJ
Registered User
1994 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Columbia, Mo.
Posts: 1,739
Scrap yard, got one for $50, but it didn't end up curing anything for the jeep I was messing with.
Luke94XJ is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 07-04-2011, 05:11 AM
Kevin108
Registered User
2000 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 3,951
This is kind of off the wall, but make sure your fuse box on the passenger fender is bolted down tight. Some guy was having the same issues as you and it turned out to be a poor ground at the PDC or whatever it's called.

My build thread has pics again. http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f177/kevin108s-2000-xj-build-867428/
Kevin108 is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 10-02-2014, 02:30 PM
bobbito1287
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
i have a 1995 jeep cherokee 4.0 6 cylinder and recently all the gauges but the battery and oil gauges stopped working along with my windshield wipers wont wipe anymore. I took it to a shop and the tested it to see what could be wrong but all they could come up with is that maybe the PCM is malfunctioning and to replace. Could it maybe be something else since all other electric works ie radio, turn signals, lights, and how could i test it myself?
bobbito1287 is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 10-03-2014, 06:39 AM
AZ Jeff
Web Wheeler
2014 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Tan Valley Arizona
Posts: 7,698
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbito1287 View Post
i have a 1995 jeep cherokee 4.0 6 cylinder and recently all the gauges but the battery and oil gauges stopped working along with my windshield wipers wont wipe anymore. I took it to a shop and the tested it to see what could be wrong but all they could come up with is that maybe the PCM is malfunctioning and to replace. Could it maybe be something else since all other electric works ie radio, turn signals, lights, and how could i test it myself?
Since the PCM is not involved with wiper operation in ANY way, the shop is obviously totally guessing (and incorrectly at that!!!)

I would bet your issue is either a loose or corroded connector where the wiring goes through the firewall, or a bad ground. It's certainly NOT the PCM.

AZ-Jeff
I don't own an XJ any longer, but I still think they are the best of all the Jeep products ever made. My XJ was my favorite vehicle in my 50+ years of driving.
So...I stick around and give advice.
AZ Jeff is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 10-04-2014, 11:42 AM
bobbito1287
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 2
PCM wiring

Quote:
Originally Posted by AZ Jeff View Post
Since the PCM is not involved with wiper operation in ANY way, the shop is obviously totally guessing (and incorrectly at that!!!)

I would bet your issue is either a loose or corroded connector where the wiring goes through the firewall, or a bad ground. It's certainly NOT the PCM.
is there a way for me to be able to test myself or videos demonstrating how to do this to find the problem?
bobbito1287 is offline  
Reply

Tags
computer , ecu

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Engine Swap Question 95 Grand Cherokee to 90 Cherokee twmart XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 3 08-04-2010 04:17 PM
axle swap grand cherokee to cherokee kpluard XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 2 03-17-2010 09:01 PM
Grand Cherokee to Cherokee engine swap? dogbluedrummer XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 5 02-22-2008 08:57 AM
96 Grand Cherokee Computer Problem Timster XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 1 11-01-2006 11:30 AM
Swap stock wheels 99 Cherokee to 96 Grand Cherokee?? JeepsJeeps XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 2 10-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome