Brake issue on 87 Cherokee - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Brake issue on 87 Cherokee

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineWe have Engo 10k Synthetic IN STOCK!!! Hurry while supplieJeep speedometer gears at rockridge4wd

Unread 07-15-2012, 03:52 PM   #1
Aric_Heselton
1987 XJ Cherokee 

Brake issue on 87 Cherokee

So, im not a mechanic or a know it all. I know very little, but i have a brain and ive always been hungry for knowledge and to get my hands dirty. I have a 1987 Cherokee, with a twist, it has a 1992 4.0 in it. Nothing matches up really and im becoming a self taught mechanic so i spend countless hours on this vehicle if my hands arent dirty im doing research. I can honestly say there isnt one issue with that vehicle i havent been able to fix and theres been alot. Until now. My pedal was spongy, to the point where stopping was hard, so after a few hours of surfing around i made damn sure what the problem was. I come to the conclusion its air in my lines, well that doesnt sound too bad to bleed the system ive seen it done as a kid. So lets go get our hands dirty, I bleed the system in sequence did everything the way my extensive research said to. I used a bottle with a hose submerged in brake fluid and a vent for the bubbles to escape, so after pumping the pedal and going through a big bottle of fluid (keeping the master topped off) theres absolutely no air bubbles i can see, now my problems worse. The rear brakes are drums and now it looks as if they arent even grabbing at all. Can anyone shed some light on this or help me out? Im from Hastings MN anyone near here willing to take a look im willing to drive it there or some posts on here would suffice as well. Im unem