Ball Joint replacement on Cherokee - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > Ball Joint replacement on Cherokee

The Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!Safety Thimble FairleadsEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 01-05-2006, 03:32 PM   #1
Domski

Ball Joint replacement on Cherokee

Hi,

I'm a newbie on your site, enquiring for a friend of mine who has a 4.0 Cherokee, he needs to replace the upper & lower balljoints. Could somebody please say what is involved & how easy the job is?, or a link to a 'how to' guide?

many thanks,

Domski

Domski is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-05-2006, 03:38 PM   #2
conrasm
2000 TJ Wrangler 

A ball joint press would be beneficial. It's been a while, but I remember some mention of which brand some of the guys on here liked. Might not be bad to have some post reguarding this topic again. I know autozone rents a ball joint press, but I think the quality was a little poor and it had a tendency to bend....and I think the AmPro kit that Advance sells is not the best quality either. Hopefully someone else can give some advice on the tools.
'07 Ram 1500 quad cab
Heritage Region Jeep Alliance
conrasm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-05-2006, 03:47 PM   #3
Tazjig
1988 YJ Wrangler 

i would definately invest in a tool, either rent one or buy it, it makes life so much easier, ball joints on xj's aren't hard, the uppers are just a little tricky to get at.
1990 240sx (SR20) - SOLD
Tazjig is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-05-2006, 03:47 PM   #4
AZ Jeff
Web Wheeler
2014 JK Wrangler 

Go here: http://www.madxj.com/MADXJ/technical/TECHNICAL.htm