another endlessly overheating xj - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > another endlessly overheating xj

1984-2001 Jeep Cherokee Front Upper & Lower Control ArSwag Off Road BIG-HIT TJ-YJ Rear BumperFS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome Effect

Unread 07-04-2013, 12:20 PM   #16
igee99

Overheating Jeep

I have been a auto tech and jeep owner for quite awhile now. I have found to get the best cooling action from your system is to flush it good twice a year. Especially the four liter engine. Being a iron head and block builds up a lot of rust "fur" on the cooling jacket of the engine and radiator. Put flush in it and drive it for at least an hour. I have been known to drive it for two days. Remove the thermostat and flush with a garden hose on full pressure until the water runs clean. Then reinstall the thermostat and remove one of the heater core hoses, preferably the top one. Fill system at the rad with 50/50 mix coolant until it runs out of the hose. Hold the hose above the level of the engine. Run engine until thermostat opens and if you have good heat the air is out. I do this religiously twice a year for myself and my customers and have had excellent results.

igee99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-04-2013, 07:42 PM   #17
dented

Fan shroud

I had a constant overheating issue with an 89 XJ. New fan shroud, no problem.
dented is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-05-2013, 06:37 PM   #18
Mywrangler94
1994 YJ Wrangler