advice on ford 8.8 regear to 4.88 gears - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > advice on ford 8.8 regear to 4.88 gears

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineNEW!! HMF 50"-52" light bar mounting brackets!! Year End Clearance Sale! Save 20%

Unread 09-06-2013, 10:19 PM   #1
noslime
1997 XJ Cherokee 

advice on ford 8.8 regear to 4.88 gears

I'm a noob so don't hassle me! Anyway, i have seen my question asked and the only answer was don't do it yourself. I am the kind of person that can pretty much do anything I try, and like to learn new things. Kinda makes up for the fact I'm very un-athletic and throw like a girl.. Anyway, I want to put a 8.8 Explorer rear on my Cherokee and upgrade to 4.88 gears. I plan on reading up on the subject and watching a few dvds. I've found most of what I need @summit racing to do it. My question is two fold:
1. What all should i replace and what weaknesses does this diff have? Should i go with limited slip?
2. Is there any point? Can I fit 35" with 15x10 rims and a 3" lift? I know that i need to cut my fenders, but does it have to be more than what Bushwackers can cover?
Any other options/opinions are welcome
Thanks!

noslime is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-07-2013, 08:27 AM   #2
98muddyjeep
rockin lil red wagon

1998 XJ Cherokee