98 cherokee hard start/unstable idle/stumbling - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > 98 cherokee hard start/unstable idle/stumbling

FrEaKy FrIdAy SaLe!!!!NEW!! HMF 50"-52" light bar mounting brackets!! The ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! Brough

Unread 08-20-2011, 03:26 AM   #1
quickwrex

98 cherokee hard start/unstable idle/stumbling

i just purchased a 98 xj with 135k. i'm a pretty knowledgeable mechanic and have been doing research to try and sort out what is causing the combination of running issues and have gotten no were and don't want to just throw parts at it. any given start up hot or cold it takes a good 10 seconds of cranking before it will fire up, once started it runs up to a high idle around 1500 for a few then starts to stumble as it drops to a standard idle around 750 or so. after warming up it starts to come up on idle and becomes erratic. if i rev it a few time it comes back down to 750 then starts climbing back up. i was thinking a manifold leak but with limited time i was going to pull it in today and get started. having never owned a jeep before maybe some of you can point me in the right direction to a sensor acting up or something along those lines maybe.
thanks derek

quickwrex is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-20-2011, 04:50 AM   #2
tjwalker
It's the crank sensor!

1999 XJ Cherokee 

1. Fresh tuneup hardware. Champion copper plugs gapped to .035, new plug wires, cap, rotor.

2. Clean the throttle body and idle air control. Both get carboned up over time and miles and this is one of the first procedures I'd perform on a "new-to-you" XJ. More on that below.