97 XJ Worth It? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > 97 XJ Worth It?

FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectSavvy Aluminum Gas Tank SkidFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 10-24-2013, 07:08 PM   #1
Jimidude87
1988 YJ Wrangler 

97 XJ Worth It?

Hey guys I am new to this part of the forum. I am used to posting in the YJ section but I am considering adding to my collection.

I found an ad for a 97 Cherokee that has a 4.0 with a 5 speed manual transmission and is 4x4. The guy is asking $750 for it. Here is why so cheap. The motor is no good and needs to be replaced or rebuilt. I feel like this could be perfect for me because during my yj project I bought a 4.0 motor and was thinking about swapping that in but ended up rebuilding the original motor. So I have a 4.0 motor sitting in my shop. The only thing im not sure of is the motor that I have came out of a 95 cherokee.

My question to you guys is this: will I have any problems dropping this motor into that cherokee with the cherokee being 2 years newer...will the wiring be the same? Also, does this sound like a good price for that package? Thanks for all of your help and hopefully I will be on this part of the forum a lot more in the near future.

Jimidude87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-24-2013, 10:06 PM   #2
xjdantheman
1993 XJ Cherokee 

If the spare motor you have is an obd2 one then its a straight swap, also hope it came out of an xj.

But if its obd1 then all you have to do is swap over some parts.
xjdantheman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-25-2013, 07:53 AM   #3
Azzy
Web Wheeler

1996 XJ Cherokee