97 XJ upgrade - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > 97 XJ upgrade

Bds fox ipf 2.0 racing series shocks now available at rockThe Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!

Unread Yesterday, 06:04 PM   #1
WBZ
1997 XJ Cherokee 

97 XJ upgrade

It has been some time since i have been on this forum. I am getting ready to start an upgrade plan on my XJ. It is a 97 with just over 200,000 miles, but it has been maintained and is in fairly good shape so i think it is worth the cost to do what i want to do. Keep in mind that i am not a mechanic, i envy the skills some of you have.

I currently have 30x9.50x15 Firestone Destination AT tires on a stock suspension and stock 5 spoke wheels, it is a tight fit but it works. I am considering the Old Man Emu 1.5 lift that i can get from Quadratec for $855.95, my mechanic says he thinks about $300 labor to make the switch. After this is complete I hope to put 31 inch tires on it. I have Bridgestone Duellers on another SUV and have been more pleased with them than the Firestones. I plan to use my stock wheels. I have been holding off on this project until the tires wear out and that time is almost here. This is primarily a street vehicle and i want it to ride and handle good. the guy at quadratic says it will ride better than it does now.

edited to add http://www.quadratec.com/products/76090_800.htm

I also need new exhaust from the converter back. I would like to have a nice sounding exhaust with out being to loud. Keep in mind i am 55 and my wife will be using the Xj to take the grandsons to the little league field I like the idea of the magaflow but at around $600 i am not sure if i can get about the same thing for less