2000 Cherokee Rear Wiper - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Cherokee & Comanche Forums > XJ Cherokee Technical Forum > 2000 Cherokee Rear Wiper

CCOR is your 1 stop source for everything Jeep!TJ 5.25" Speaker Adapters - NalinMFGSteinjager TJ tube doors

Unread 07-14-2012, 07:38 PM   #1
stigers

2000 Cherokee Rear Wiper

Hello - hoping to find some help with my rear wiper. Today I found broken wires between the rear hatch and body. Upon repairing them, my rear wiper started working again. However, it only works when the hatch is open. As soon as the hatch latches shut the wiper stops working, but keeps clicking. I'm thinking it might have something to do with a ground, but I'm no electrical expert. With the hatch open, I ran a wire from wiper motor back to ground and it produced the same result as when the hatch is shut - wiper stops working. I'd appreciate some thoughts on this as I have way too many hours wrapped up in working on this. Thanks.

stigers is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-14-2012, 10:31 PM   #2
bend
2001 XJ Cherokee 

Could you put a volt meter on the power for the motor when the hatch is closed? I'm wondering if closing the door is cutting your power
bend is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-2012, 01:46 AM   #3
sbxj
2001 XJ Cherokee 

I had the same thing happen a year after I repaired mine. How did you repair? Solder? butt splice? Were you able to stuff all the wires back into the rubber boot? It's a tight fit and it sounds like the wires are losing contact.

'99 WJ Laredo, 4.0L with HID Retrofit
WJ HID Retrofit Pics
sbxj is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-2012, 07:46 AM   #4
stigers