Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

My little M416

71K views 182 replies 32 participants last post by  GregB_00XJ 
#1 ·
Well here goes...I have been wanting to have a trailer just for my 05' TJ since I got it.The other small trailers worked fine for hauling brush to the bottom pasture or the weekend trips to Home Depot but lacked in the looks when going on a trip.:hahaha: :mad:
Since I am new to the Jeep world and kind of a green horn when it comes to turning wrench's I thought it would be a good idea to hold off on molesting the TJ with newbee ideas.Thought if more time was spent learning how to do things like paint,body work,brakes,and axles on the trailer then it would give a better insight on the ways NOT to do with my pride.:2thumbsup: Also,it could give me a chance to pick up some well needed tools to boot.

SO...here she is in all her rusted up glory.It should be a fun ride.:cheers2:

Attachments

See less See more
#5 ·
Yep. I was told by the PO that it was a radio trailer and the tailgate was a mod the military did soon after delivery. Don't know how much I believe of that story with the gate but it did have a plaque on the front showing it was in fact used as a radio trailer. Who knows. Will try to research that to see where it goes.

Stripped it down to nothing and sending it to the sand blasting boys. Hope it resembles a trailer next time I see her.

I will post a pic of the radio plaque tomorrow.Hope someone here knows anything about this so we can shed some light on it.

#7 ·
As soon as I got the bed away from the frame I figured that maybe it might not be hard to just remove the rust myself with a grinder wire brush.It only took a few hours of going nowhere and a lot of not paying any attendtion to lose a pair of pants (and almost the reason i wear them!!) before giving in to defeat and sending her to the sandblaster.:rolleyes:

Attachments

#9 ·