Getting Hitched! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General > Trailers & Towing > Getting Hitched!

Labor Day Sale!FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 02-13-2013, 08:08 AM   #1
Crafty42
2003 TJ Wrangler 

Getting Hitched!

Ok, so I'm new to the Jeep world. Just picked up a 2003 Wrangler Sport, 4.0L, with of course the inline 6. I pretty certain it's all stock, with exception to the 31" tires on it. It did not come with a hitch receiver, so I was looking into getting one. Was looking around and came across Curt first, then someone mentioned Reese as well. I was originally just going to go with this one:

http://www.suspensionconnection.com/...ler-hitch.html

Then I started seeing pics of ones that curve out slightly and thought that might be the way to go to avoid interference with the spare. I figured I'd come to where the experts would be and have the most experience with Wranglers and Towing. Can anyone provide any insight?

For the record, I only expect to be using it for light towing. Quad mostly, and perhaps some firewood from time to time at camp.

Thanks for any help!

Crafty42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-13-2013, 10:12 AM   #2
Indy

You won't spare interference with any of them. They mount fairly low, so unless younstart hanging a 40 on the tailgate there shouldn't be an issue.

Never underestimate the power of stupid.
Indy is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-13-2013, 10:13 AM   #3
Indy

And a 40 on the tailgate will fix the 8nterference problem the first time you hit a bump anyways

Unread 02-13-2013, 04:33 PM   #4
Crafty42
2003 TJ Wrangler 

Thanks for the reply!
Unread 02-13-2013, 07:32 PM   #5
Crafty42
2003 TJ Wrangler